Skip to main content

Municipal Airport Commission

The Monticello Municipal Airport Commission was created under the authority of Arkansas Code Annotated § 74-501 et seq and Monticello City Code § 6-12 to 31 (Ordinance 404 4/11/58). Each of the Commission's five (5) members serve five (5) year terms. Members are appointed by the mayor with approval from the Monticello City Council and consist of at least one (1) member who is a current licensed private or commercial pilot.

The duties of the Commission are to manage, operate, improve, extend and maintain a municipal airport – Ellis Municipal Airport. The Commission represents the city in all aeronautical issues, and protects aerial approaches to the municipal airport.

The Airport Commission meets at the call of the Chairperson or any two commissioners.


Bennie Ryburn, III
212 West Gaines Street
Monticello, AR 71655

Commission Members

Name Title
Bennie Ryburn Chair
Richard Reinhart  
Chris Selby  
Joel Stevens  
Mike Akin  



To review documents from previous years, go to the city's OpenGov Archives Page.